Swim Club

The Moorooka Marlins Swim Club is an amateur swim club with membership available to all families of the community.

Our Club’s primary aims are not only to teach swimming but to also improve members’ techniques and fitness and promote water safety in general.

Our program aims to encourage the families of young children in the Moorooka community to take up swimming with particular importance given to families of multicultural backgrounds or those who require financial assistance.

We hold our Club nights every Friday night, excluding Christmas School Holidays, unless cancelled due to adverse weather conditions.  Swimmers compete against their personal best times accumulating points towards the Aggregate Points Trophy competition awarded at the end of the season.  Boys and girls swim together with events graded from slowest to fastest.

Club Rules

2021/2022 Marlins Handbook

Swim Club Rules

All members are encouraged to participate in the monthly Swim Club Committee meetings held at the school pool in Moorooka, on the first Monday of each month at 6:30pm, excluding school holidays.  Anyone interested in joining the Marlin Subcommittee can nominate at the Moorooka State School P&C Annual General Meeting held in March each year.  If you are interested outside of this time, please contact the P&C Executive Team on moorookasspandc@gmail.com.

Changes to the Club’s rulebook and Charter may only be made before the start of the swim season and only under conditions which ensure adequate notice is given to members and a majority decisions obtained.

Membership and Annual Fees

Swimmers must be club members in order to participate at Club Nights, swim meets and championships.  The annual swim club fee is $115 per family per season.  For families joining after 1 January (mid-season) the half yearly fee will be $70.  On joining and paying the club fee, a family is entitled to:

  • participate in all Club activities
  • a copy of the season’s handbook
  • a copy of the annual report via e-mail

Swim Club Membership 21/22 Sign On

Club Committee

Role Name
Chair Julian Martinuzzi
Vice-Chair Carlie Sharp
Secretary Leia McIntosh
Treasurer Coralee Goodwin
Club Captains William Affleck
Samantha Dellar
Oscar Martinuzzi
Alexis McIntosh
Lachlan Shine
Chief Judge Michael Affleck
Chief Timekeeper Leia McIntosh
Referee Michael Affleck
Starter Patrick Shine
Announcer Peta Shine
Marshalls Katherine Reid
Hannah Kujanpaa
Canteen Coordinator Sandra Gleaves
BBQ Coordinator Julian Martinuzzi
Computer Committee Coralee Goodwin
Shaun Goodwin
Greg Lewis
Carnival Coordinators Julian Martinuzzi
Leia McIntosh
Hannah Kujanpaa
Patron Cr Steve Griffiths